Probate Court Of Jefferson County, Alabama

Citizens Supervisory Commission

The next meeting of the Citizens Supervisory Commission will be announced soon.

Act No. 248, H.580 of the Alabama Legislature of 1945, established the Personnel Board of Jefferson County and governs its operation. The Act is generally referred to as the Board’s Enabling Act, as amended.

Section 5. of the Enabling Act created the Citizens Supervisory Commission and sets out its membership. In 1985, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Alabama amended the membership of the Citizens Supervisory Commission.

Section 3. of the Enabling Act states, “Members number one, two and three (of the Personnel Board) shall be appointed by the Citizens Supervisory Commission…”

The current members of the Citizens Supervisory Commission are:

Judge Alan King, Chair
Presiding Probate Judge

Mr. William Barnes
Interim President, Birmingham Urban League

Ms. Marrianne Hayward
Jefferson County American Federation of Teachers
President, Central Alabama Labor Federation

Ms. Jinnifer Purnell
Jefferson County Attorney’s Office
County Employee Representative

Pastor E. O. Jackson
President, Interdenominational Ministerial
Alliance of Greater Birmingham

Ms. Bobbie Knight
Interim President, Miles College

Ms. Dorothea Crosby
President, NAACP Birmingham Branch

Mr. Fred McCallum
Interim President and Chief Executive Officer Birmingham Business Alliance, Inc.

Mr. Daniel B. Coleman
President, Birmingham-Southern College

Mr. Keith A. Brown, Esq.
Interim President, Jefferson State Junior College

Jan Plyler
President, Jefferson County Council of PTA

Elizabeth Martin M.D.
President, Jefferson County Medical Society

Dr. Perry W. Ward
President, Lawson State Community College

Ms. Yvette Reynolds
City of Fairfield Fire Department
Municipal Employee Representative

Dr. Ray L. Watts
President, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Dr. Andrew Westmoreland
President, Samford University

Details for the Next Meeting will be Updated Here.